Galerija za zvok, bioakustiko in umetnost / Gallery for sound, bioacustics and art

Ida Hiršenfelder (beepblip): Exercises in Listenig to the Inaudible

Artist’s notebook of Ida HIRŠENFELDER (beepblip) created as part of the Acoustic Commons project.

The text questions our relationship to the notion of location, its sonority and the meaning of what is heard and discusses various artistic approaches towards these topics through conversations with artists Brane ZORMAN, Irena PIVKA, Luka PRINCIČ, Manja RISTIĆ and Petra KAPŠ (OR poiesis) and explores the activity of the CONA institute on the Slovenian sound art and music composition scene, manily because of its profound relation to the location of listening and the way bodies move in time and space whilst listening. The location of sound not only informs us about its ecological conditions but gives that place a particular political and social belonging.

Link to the artist’s notebook in pdf.

The booklet in physical form is available at our headquarters at Trg prekomorskih brigad 1, 1000 Ljubljana. Please send prior notice to to arrange the time and date for your visit.

The author’s thoughts:

“The activities of Acoustic Commons coincided with one of the most dramatic moments of silence we have ever witnessed, a rupture that could only be outrivalled by a potential blackout from a Carrington catastrophe. Before the restrictions on public movement at the beginning of the pandemic, it was difficult to imagine that the behemoth of capitalism and the rumble of cars, planes and human masses could ever fall silent. If only for just a few weeks, it gave hope to the possibility of turning it off for a common cause—in the anticipation that someday soon, the mitigation of anthropogenic climate change might become a similar urgent common cause. Sadly, two years later, our common cause seems more lost than ever. Consequently, commoning, coming together in a specific location, or finding the togetherness in the diversity of perception through sound in and of our environment is even more critical.”

Sound adaptation, part of the final exhibition of the Acoustic Commons project in Aix-en-Provence, France:

Ida HIRŠENFELDER (beepblip) is a Ljubljana, Slovenia based media art curator, critic and sound artist. Her focus research areas are media archaeology and archives of media art. She was a member of Theremidi Orchestra noise collective. She works at the Museum of Contemporary Art Metelkova, +MUSM on projects related to digital archives. In collaboration with Saša Spačal she made a series of sonoseizmic installations (Crust, 2014, Sonoseismic Earth, 2015-2017) and other sound experiments. With Spačal she is also a co-initiator of ČIPke Platform for Women with a Sense for Science, Technology and Art. Time Displacement / Chemobrionic Garden in collaboration with Robertina Šebjanič and Aleš Hieng – Zergon was exhibited at Ars Electronica festival (2016) Radical Atoms exhibition in Linz and Device_art 5.016 exhibition in Montreal. Her sound composition were performed on Topographies of Sound festival and in the radioCona programme.


Exercises in Listening to the Inaudible

Text: Ida HIRŠENFELDER (beepblip)
English language editing and proofreading: Jana Renée WILCOXEN
Translation into Slovenian and proofreading: Melita SILIČ
Cover image: Ida HIRŠENFELDER (beepblip)
Editor: Irena PIVKA
Design: Matej TOMAŽIN
Publisher: Cona, zavod za procesiranje sodobne umetnosti, Ljubljana, 2022
Book collection: Steklenik 2021/22 / 3
Print run: 300 copies
Not for sale

The programme of CONA is supported by the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Slovenia and the Municipality of Ljubljana’s Department for Culture.
The text by Ida HIRŠENFELDER was written for the Acoustic Commons network and published in a Steklenik Gallery booklet.
Made available in pdf format at, on 1 January 2023.

© CONA 2022. All rights reserved.